Executive Board
The Executive Board is responsible for the management of the school and meets monthly to discuss and decide upon issues at strategic and operational level. The Scientific Director has the full and integral responsibility for the school and reports to the Dean.
• Prof. Tilman Hackeng, Scientific Director
• Prof. Hugo ten Cate, Division Blood
Prof. Harry Crijns, Leader Division Heart
• Prof. Coen Stehouwer, Leader Division Vessels
• Prof. Uli Schotten, Representative Strategic Board
• Wouter Hankel, Managing Director
• Tara de Koster

Strategic Board
The Strategic Board advises and supports the CARIM scientific director in managing long-term policy. The board is also a discussion forum and generates written visions of the future of CARIM and its survival in an increasingly competitive international scientific environment. The Strategic Board meets regularly to discuss issues such as grant programmes, national and international collaboration networks, interdisciplinary communication and CARIM’s visibility in the national and international cardiovascular fields.
• Prof. Uli Schotten, chair
• Dr Aaron Isaacs
• Prof. Paul Volders
• Dr Judith Cosemans
• Dr Paola van der Meijden
• Dr Martijn Brouwers
• Dr Jordi Heijman
• Dr Boy Houben
• Wouter Hankel
• Tara de Koster

CARIM Office
The CARIM Office consists of specialists that support the organisation and it's researchers with administrative, financial and legal issues, including HRM and funding. Tara de Koster, Riet Daamen and Esther Willigers are responsible for administrative issues, including supporting the Executive Board. The controller of CARIM is Lynn Lemeer. The Finance Department of Maastricht University provides support on accounting the CARIM research projects with Henny Kerckhoffs, Esther van Heel and Johan Noordijk. Mechteld Ostendorf of the Human Resources Department of Maastricht University is dedicated to CARIM. In legal affairs, Suzanne ten Hoeve supports CARIM, and Willem Wolters is responsible for funding acquisition. Managing Director Wouter Hankel is the head of the CARIM office. Former Managing Director Rob van der Zander is a special advisor to the management of CARIM.

Research Council

The CARIM Research Council evaluates grant applications to improve the quality and success rate, especially those to be submitted to highly competitive calls, for example, but not limited to, Veni, Vidi, Vici, Dekker fellowships, ERC, Leducq and TTW-OTP.
• Prof. Frits Prinzen, chair
• Dr Kristiaan Wouters, secretary
• Prof. Erik Biessen
• Dr Matthijs Blankesteijn
• Dr Ed Eringa
• Prof. Chris Reutelingsperger
• Dr Marjo Donners
• Dr Gerry Nicolaes

Grants & Incentives Team

The goal of the CARIM Grants & Incentive Team is boost grant applications by activating researchers and research teams, keeping track of submitted, granted and rejected applications and discussing calls and opportunities.
• Prof. Frits Prinzen, chair
• Dr Matthijs Blankesteijn
• Dr Marleen van Greevenbroek
• Wouter Hankel
• Dr Mark Hazebroek
• Prof. Johan Heemskerk
• Dr 
Daniel Molin
• Dr Judith Sluimer
Willem Wolters

Education Programme Coordinator
Dr Marc van Bilsen is CARIM’s PhD coordinator and advises the Executive Board on all issues regarding the PhD programme. Within CARIM, the PhD coordinator works closely with the CARIM Office, policy advisor and Scientific Director. Click here for more information on our PhD programme.

Education Programme Committee
The Education Programme Committee coordinates both the PhD and Master’s programmes and advises the Executive Board on all issues regarding these educational programmes.
• Dr Marc van Bilsen
• Dr Matthijs Blankesteijn
• Prof. Eline Kooi
• Dr Boy Houben
• Myrthe van der Bruggen
• Kim Maasen
• Adele Ruder
• Renee Tillie

Participating departments
• Anesthesiology
Biomedical Engineering (BMT)
• Cardiology
Cardio-thoracic Surgery
Clinical Chemistry
• Clinical Pharmacy
• Epidemiology
Genetics and Cell Biology
• Immunology
• Intensive Care
• Internal Medicine
• Pharmacology and Toxicology
Radiology and Nuclear Medicine
Vascular surgery